Nottingham Tournaments

The Nottingham Go Tournament was first started by Mike Harvey and Tony Atkins in November 1983.


(The British Go Congress had also been at Willoughby Hall, University of Nottingham, in 1982 and later at Derby Hall, University of Nottingham, in 1992.)

After 1988 a gap of 21 years occurred until Maria Tabor restarted the tournament in 2010.

It has always been held at the University of Nottingham, on the main campus, in the Portland and Trent Buildings.

Founder Tony Atkins holds the record for most involvement in the tournament over the years. He organised in 1983 and 1985, played in 1984, 1986 and 1987, and both played and helped the local organisers in 2010, 2011 and 2012. However the 1988 edition was organised at short notice and Tony decided to play his local Bracknell Shogi Tournament instead, which was on the same day.

In 2010 a trophy was purchased to be held annually by the winner and this was engraved with all the winners from the past.

After a gap of a few years the club introduced a teaching day, held at the Dice Cup games shop, with in the afternoon a bar-low event in February 2018 and a rapid play in May 2019. In May 2020 there was to have been a full day tournament at the Scout Hut in West Bridgford, but this was cancelled because of Coronavirus.

Results, Winners and Reports of Tournaments

1983 Brian ChandlerReport/Photos
1984 John SmithReport/Photos
1985 J-Y LeeReport/Photos
1986 J-Y LeeReport/Photos
1987 Edmund ShawReport
1988 John RickardReport
2010Alex SelbyReport/Photos
2011Chong HanReport
2012Sin Voon ChinReport/Photos
2018Jonathan GreenReport/Photo
2019Testsuro YoshitakeReport

Nottingham Go Tournament Quiz

From the restart in 2010 a quiz sheet has been available during the day to keep fast players amused.
They have been written mostly by Robert Harman.

Home Last updated: 2020-07-11.